Delightful Desserts Devoid of Fat

Posted on January 6, 2012

0


yum banner

The holidays are the true test of whether or not my low-fat nearly vegan diet is delectable or mere drudgery. Test results: delectable! Ok, enough alliteration.  For all of you skeptics out there, let me just share with you some of the tasty concoctions that I was able to partake of over the past few weeks. And just for the record, these are not completely devoid of fat, just really, really low in fat.

Peppermint Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Creme Frosting and Peppermint Crumbs

These were SO easy. I started out with my trusty Moosewood 6-minute chocolate cake  recipe (that I generally modify by replacing half the oil with applesauce and nixing the glaze). This time I modified the recipe by adding a teaspoon of peppermint extract. Then I filled a large ziplock with marshmallow creme and cut a hole in the corner to squeeze the stuff out onto the cupcakes. This substance is absurdly sticky. If it gets on your hands, it is nearly impossible to scrape off, though this is easily solved by licking it off. And last I smashed up  some candy canes by placing them in a brown bag and whacking it with the bottom of a heavy jar. I learned with the first batch that they have to be sprinkled on top of the marshmallow creme soon after it is piped onto the cupcakes because otherwise they don’t stick.

Pumpkin Brulee

What do you do when you have cooked an entire pumpkin, pureed it, and then decided that you don’t want pumpkin pie? Well aside from Pumpkin and Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Creme Soup (that is for another post), you make Pumpkin Brulee, at least that is what I did. And regarding a recipe, well, I just started adding sugar and spices until it reached the desired sweetness and spice level, then added a few (2-4?ish) eggs, and a splash of soy milk and a few tablespoons of cornstach just to make sure it would set. Then I poured it all into ramekins and baked them in a water bath until it wasn’t jiggly anymore. After they were done and they had cooled a while, they were ready to be sprinkled with sugar and “bruleed” with a mini blow torch. Result: pumpkiny brulee yumminess! I also learned that the leftover brulee does not keep its crisp top layer after going in the fridge….so it is best to torch it right before eating.

Gingerbread Biscotti

If I had known that biscotti was so easy, I would have started making it years ago! Here is the recipe I used to make it  Gingerbread Biscotti. The only modifications I made was to use 2 eggs instead of the egg replacer and water. I also added a powdered sugar glaze which I mostly like because it looks pretty :-)

Posted in: Clarissa, Epicurious