Italian Wedding Soup…Barefoot Contessa Style

Posted on February 17, 2011

2


Oh so yum!

A few weeks ago I watched an episode of the Barefoot Contessa on Hulu. She was making Italian Wedding Soup for her husband on their anniversary. Now, while I really like Ina Garten as a person (at least as the person she is on TV) I am not usually a fan of her actual recipes because they often includes ridiculous amount of butter. And most of you know that I try to cook pretty healthy most of the time. But I really like to watch her show because I have the feeling that if we ever met that I would really like her, and because she seems to have a really genuine love and delight in her husband.

Yes, I realize that TV is SO not real life, but still, compared to other TV cooking show folks, she seems very down to earth. Also, I like her name. Both of them. Just the name “Barefoot Contessa” sounds wildly romantic and sophisticated and earthy all at the same time. And I like the name Ina.

One last reason that I really like her is that, apparently, when she first decided she wanted to learn to cook, she had a brunch for like 15 people and made omelets! Of course it took like two hours to serve everyone because she had to make each omelet to order. Because she spent the entire time in the kitchen, and didn’t get to actually be with any of her guests, she was indelibly motivated from that moment on to pursuing cooking in such a way that people were always a priority. So many of her recipes can be made ahead. Even though I don’t make much of her stuff, I like her philosophy of cooking.

So without further chatter…here are some pics from the Italian Wedding Soup which got two very enthusiastic thumbs up from both John and I (which, by the way equals 4 thumbs total). Oh, and here is the recipe, because I am not going to retype the whole thing.

So these are the chicken meatballs, and yes, I know they look like cookies. They were amazing!

 

Lots of fresh dill definitely made this recipe.

 

Oh so yum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted in: Clarissa, Epicurious