Silly humans we are to disagree with God

Posted on February 22, 2011

0



I can’t help but wonder how many times a day I “argue with God” even if it is a sub- conscience thing seen solely by a careful examination of of my motives and actions. God tells me, “It is not important that you have the approval and admiration of everyone in your life” and my actions often reply, “Yes it is.” God tells me, “I am a good and loving Father; I will provide for all your needs.” And my anxiety and fears about the future are essentially me responding with, “No you won’t, I have to work everything out on my own.” Silly, silly, sad human. Thanks, Clive Staples for revealing our own silliness.

But there is a difficulty about disagreeing with God. He is the source from which all of your reasoning power comes: you could not be right he wrong any more than a stream can rise higher than its own source. When you are arguing against him, you are arguing against the very power that makes you able to argue at all: it is like cutting off the branch you are sitting on.           C.S. Lewis Mere Christianity

