Homemade crackers and snapshots of sunshine in our neighborhood

Posted on June 5, 2011

1




Yesterday I made my own crackers for the first time, and it was so easy and they were so tasty, I am wondering how it is possible that I have spent hours in the kitchen laboring over baking my own bread, cakes, cookies, muffins, cinnamon rolls, and pretty much every other kinds of mixture of flour and liquids that make their way into the oven, but I have never made my own crackers.

Well, I believe I am entering a new season of life. A season in which crackers will no longer be something I pay 3 dollars for in a box at the grocery store. Here are a few pics of my crackers. Oh, and here is a link to the recipe I used. I figure why retype it if someone else has already done it.


The sunshine finally decided to show up again in Spokane, so I thought I would try to snatch some pics of our beautiful neighborhood.

This house up the street from us has a beautiful tulip collection!

The lilacs are in full bloom here and the smell in the air is intoxicating.

Our neighbors have these gorgeous irises growing in their front bed, and every time I walk by I envision them in a vase on our table, so I have to constantly remind myself that cutting flowers from someone yard is still stealing.

We found this little door on an empty property nearby. We affectionately refer to it as the place where the hobbit lives. We haven’t seen him yet, but we have high hopes of catching a glimpse sometime in the next few months. Also, please note that I am indeed taller than the door, so for all of you out there who think that I am no taller than humble Middle Earth creatures, I have posted the pic to prove you wrong.

Our front porch…my favorite place to sit in the afternoon when the sun is shining.

