Eternity in our Hearts

Posted on February 6, 2012

0



By John

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart…”  Ecclesiastes 3:11

The last month was full of hugs and lasts. We sold all of our stuff, tried to have dinner or coffee, or just a few minuets with as many people as we could. It went by mostly without tears, our emotions numbed by the sheer number of goodbyes to be said. Even now it feels mostly not real. Like we will stop driving one day, I will go back into Moody’s hangar and pick up my tools again.

As we gave out all these hugs, we felt something, down in the roots of our hearts. I feel it now as I write—a rebellion against an injustice, a longing. Time has become my enemy. The faces of all the people we wanted to get to know, to invest in, swirl at the edges of my vision. It is not fair that we did not have time to be better friends and neighbors. There is not enough time to share stories of life, to celebrate together, to explore and appreciate the unique creation that each person is.

The irony is that even had we stayed in Spokane, we would still be prisoners of time, unable to commune with old friends and relish new ones as much as our hearts now crave to. Even without work and sleep, there are not enough hours in the day to pursue the kinds of relationships we long to have with the number of people with whom our lives have crossed paths long enough for us to taste the goodness of friendship.

The phrase “he has put eternity into man’s heart” has echoed about in my chest. Like this is part of that mystery. This longing to be in people’s lives is though time is now against me. We were meant to spend centuries in a place with people, now I have mere years and decades. It is too short.

The brokenness creeps up in my chest and pulls my heart down until there is only a void.

If I had a thousand years, the feeling would inevitably be the same. We are not merely meant for long life. We are meant for ever. lasting. life.

